Confessions of a lipstick hoarder: The only 5 lipsticks you need

Okay I’ll admit it. I have a problem. I cant stop buying lipsticks. I don’t know what it is, I’ll be strolling calmly through the mall minding my own business, and then I’ll spot the MAC counter. And that’s that. 30 minutes later I’ll walk out with a new shade that I’ll convince myself is absolutely essential for “my collection”. When did it even become a collection?! Don’t even ask. But for better or worse, a collection it is. And its still growing. Lipsticks in my mind are the little black dresses of makeup. You need to find that perfect one, yet at the same time you just cant have enough. First it’s about finding that perfect nude for your skin tone. Then of course we have to have that everyday pink! Then comes that perfect shade of red that you absolutely need in your life, and while you are at it why not pick up some statement colors as well. Orange, plum, dark red, even that purple. And then, ooh look Revlon has some new matte chubby sticks! Have to have those. What can I say except, I have a problem. So here are some of my favorites for the moment. I’ve tried to include drugstore options as well. I’m sorry if the swatches aren’t the best, I’ve tried to link the websites of most so you can take a better look at the colors.

  • Nudes

These are my everyday go to shades. Perfect to wear to work as well, especially if like me your office encourges business formals. Finding one which suits your complexion is essential, as some nudes can leave you looking completely washed out. Unless of course thats the look you are going for. My favorite of the lot would be Velvet Teddy by MAC. Its a matte shade, and looks great on Indian or darker skin tones.  For more fair skin tones, MAC – Fleshpot is also a great color. Maybelline recently came out with a whole collection of just nudes, so you are sure to find one perfect for you if you want to check that out.

  1. Mac Matte – Kinda Sexy
  2. Mac Lustre – Touch
  3. Mac Matte – Velvet Teddy

DSC_0854_nude2

L-R Mac Matte – Kinda Sexy Mac Lustre – Touch Mac Matte – Velvet Teddy

L-R Mac Matte – Kinda Sexy, Mac Lustre – Touch, Mac Matte – Velvet Teddy

1. Maybelline – Lip Polish GLAM 14 2. Maybelline – Watershine Pure B22 3. Colorbar – 07 Kiss Me 4. Colorbar – 04 En Vouge 5. Blooming – 14 Lola DSC_0848_nude1

Nude2_swatches

L-R Maybelline – Lip Polish GLAM 14, Maybelline – Watershine Pure B22, Colorbar – 07 Kiss Me, Colorbar – 04 En Vouge, Blooming – 14 Lola

  •  Pinks

Pink lipsticks just make me happy. There are so many shades of pink that you could go for. A bright pink lip can brighten up any outfit, while a coral lip is all the rage right now. Baby pinks are great for everyday casual outfits, but my absolute favorites are the darker nudey pinks, like Mehr By MAC. Its again a matte shade, and MAC definitely makes the best matte lipsticks out there.

  1. Maybelline – 135 Make me Pink
  2. Mac Amplified – Chatter-Box
  3. Mac Matte – Please Me
  4. Mac Matte – Mehr
  5. L’oreal  Color Riche – 370 Crazy Fuchsia
  6. Colorbar – 19 Vintage
  7. Mac Cremesheen Glass –  Double Dare

DSC_0876_pink

Pink_swatch

L-R Maybelline – 135 Make me Pink, Mac Amplified – Chatter-Box, Mac Matte – Please Me, Mac Matte – Mehr, L’oreal Color Riche – 370 Crazy Fuchsia, Colorbar – 19 Vintage, Mac Cremesheen Glass – Double Dare

  •  Reds

Every girl needs a red lipstick. And for most that lipstick is probably MAC Ruby Woo. Its the perfect red. Seriously, if you were going to buy just one lipstick I would recommend that this be it. I’ve never seen anyone not look good in that shade. Anisha is wearing it here. It looks great on everyone. For a more corally red, I love Peach Crush from Colorbar. Its a great color if you don’t like the whole fire-engine red lip. MAC Morange is also a very popular orange red.

  1. Mac Satin – Red
  2. Mac Matte – Ruby Woo
  3. Mac Matte – Relentlessly Red
  4. Colorbar – 59P Peach Crush
  5. Colorbar – 01R Hot Hot Hot
  6. Essence Stay Matte – 04 Silky Red

DSC_0881_red

Red_swatch

L-R Mac Satin – Red, Mac Matte – Ruby Woo, Mac Matte – Relentlessly Red, Colorbar – 59P Peach Crush, Colorbar – 01R Hot Hot Hot, Essence Stay Matte – 04 Silky Red

  •  Fall Shades

Fall is coming! Perfect time to bring out the darker shades.  I don’t wear these shades often, but they are great when you want to branch out from the nude-pink-peachy looks. My favorite would be Diva from MAC. Its a really dark burgundy shade, perfect for fall. I’ve included Flat Out Fabulous by MAC in the fall lineup as its the perfect bright pop when you need it this season, and its another color that looks great on almost everyone.

  1. Mac Matte – Diva
  2. Lakme 9 to 5 – Coffee Command
  3. Colorbar – 51BR Very Coffee
  4. Mac Retro Matte – Flat Out Fabulous
  5. Maybelline – Lip Polish GLAM 6

DSC_0897_statement

Fall_swatches

L-R Mac Matte – Diva, Lakme 9 to 5 – Coffee Command, Colorbar – 51BR Very Coffee, Mac Matte – Flat Out Fabulous, Maybelline – Lip Polish GLAM 6

  • Chubby Sticks

These are just so darn cute! Like chubby little crayons. I just can’t help it. They are also more affordable, and they come in tons of different colors. So if you wanted to try a bright color that you weren’t entirely sure you would wear very often, (for me it was Orange) and didn’t want to invest in a more expensive brand, these are perfect. They also smell like peppermints! Cant go wrong with that. The matte ones are my favorite. Shocker right? 😛

  1. Revlon – 001 Honey Douce
  2. Revlon – 040 Rendezvous Rendez-vous
  3. Revlon Matte – 245 Audacious Audacieuse
  4. Revlon Matte – 215 Shameless Desinvolte

DSC_0905_chubbysticks

Chubby_swatches

L-R Revlon – 001 Honey Douce, Revlon – 040 Rendezvous Rendez-vous, Revlon Matte – 245 Audacious Audacieuse, Revlon Matte – 215 Shameless Desinvolte

So one lipstick addict to another, which one is your favorite?  Do you have a lipstick addiction as well? Leave us links below if you have done a lipstick collection as well. And finally do you have any suggestions for new shades I should try? Im dying to know! – Sat 

30 comments

  1. Talk about addicted to lipsticks 🙂 MAC’s my go-to brand as well. And I love the Clinique chubby sticks. For me, my most often used shades are what would loosely be described as “my lips but better” and in that range, I’m presently in love with the MAC So Sheer… It’s a lovely shade, do try it out sometime.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have just been using one the Clinique Chubby Sticks – Whoopin’ Watermelon! How fun is that name! Love MAC but I have also been trying to find dupes as much as possible – MAC is getting too expensive now. I am definitely going to check out MAC So Sheer – sounds perfect for everyday wear and I promise you I ‘need’ an everyday wear lipstick!

      Like

      1. ‘Need’ it is 🙂 for me, it’s Whole Lotta Honey in Clinique. But you’re right, MAC’s becoming too expensive. Have been putting off buying Ruby Woo, can you beat that! Will try some of the alternatives you’ve suggested in the post… Thanks much!

        Like

        1. One suggestion I have – if you want a long lasting red lipstick – one that with last the whole dinner and drinks without touchups, there is no alternative to Ruby Woo. Otherwise go for it! Save some cash for another tube! 🙂

          Like

      1. I have 3 types of Pink, 1 magenta & 1 nude & few red & pinkish combined. Yeah thats true MAC is little expensive, I am not sure about Colorbar available or not, no worries come to Del I will gift you..XOXO 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a lipstick addict. I ignored nudes up until now because I usually only care for bold colour. But while replacing my Revlon colourburst lip butter in macaroon (so far the only bright pink I like), I chanced upon pink truffle. And lo it was good. The most perfect pinky brown shade I’ve ever seen and it’s become a staple. My current favourite red is the Kate Moss 01 lipstick, my burgundy shade is from my student days, W7 in chestnut. I have MAC Diva but the formula is too dry so I won’t be getting another.Still trying to find the perfect dark pink, I have a medium pink from 2True. I do have a beautiful nutmeg colour lipstick from UNE as well. I’m working on getting a plum shade. I don’t like orange, coral, light pink or fuchsia.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Now an update, I have discovered NARS audacious lipstick in Audrey. It’s a gorgeous redcurrant shade, if you can, see if you can find a swatch because it is magical

        Like

Don't be shy, leave us a reply!