Simple ways to add some pizzazz to your eye makeup

Hey everyone,

My name is Krupa and I blog at Ishtyle Awhile. I’d really like to thank Anisha, Bidisha and Satarupa for giving me the opportunity to guest blog at Frappes and Fashion. It is nothing like what they blog about so I hope you like the idea of something new.

Being a dancer, I know how important it is for my eyes to be highlighted. There is a lot of expressions that we show through our eyes, especially in Bharatnatyam. Even on an every day basis, kajal is like a staple in my makeup kit. Then we have those days when we want to look extra special. It could be for a festival or even a party.

0

Here are three ways in which you can do something beyond just kajal.

Look 1: Simple winged liner with a dash of gold

I know winged liner isn’t everyone’s cup of tea so if you don’t want to do a winged liner, just do a simple line. It works equally well. To bring out the gold liner that I have lined beneath my lower lash line, I used a black liquid liner on the lid. This gives that pop of colour that draws attention to your eyes but doesn’t need you to suffer with eyeshadows and brushes and whatnot.

Add mascara.

1

2

 

Look 2: Duochrome eye liner

For those of you who found the first look too simple, here is an alternative.

Line your upper lid with black liner and wing it out.

Take another liner that is preferably metallic and line just from the inner corner to half way across the lid. It should cover the black and then thin it out so from the middle of your eye, the black should start to peep through. You should have half colour and half black. Add mascara.

I didn’t remove the gold liner that I had used underneath the lower lashes. Instead I just lined my eyes with kajal.

The gold liner goes with the metallic khaki liner that I have used, but can totally opt to use just kajal, or not kajal.

3

4

5

 

Look 3: The dramatic liner

Now for those of you who aren’t scared by drama (some of us just thrive in the limelight. Hi fi girl!), this is totally for you.

I used the liquid black liner to make a thicker wing and also added an extension downwards to make the whole thing look like a fishes’ tail. The gold liner just peeks through between the tail.

I darkened the kajal on the waterline. Add mascara

There is no way that you won’t have all eyes on you with this look.

I was too lazy to remove the duochrome look and just extended it into this. You can opt for a complete black liner.

6

7

8

So which one is your favourite? Do let us know and oh, share pictures on Instagram or Twitter if you try this out. I would love to see how it turns out. Use #IshtyleAwhileFestiveEyes.

Can’t wait to see it.

Happy Diwali to all you lovely people!

 Krupa.

7 comments

Don't be shy, leave us a reply!